Mining museum. Steam winding engines. Shafts.Seeing the underground in a little mining train.
Order Tour Code: C S3
Mining Museum at Březové Hory is the biggest mining museum in the Czech
Republic. The museum is situated in the area of the historical Ševčin shaft,
driven in 1813 on the site of a medieval mining pit dating from the 16th
century. It is also situated on the original mining area of the Vojtěch pit ,
which was founded in 1779, and the Anna pit, which was driven in 1789. The
museum's exhibits were built in the original mining working and administrative
buldings and they show visitors the rich mining past of the region.
The entrance building number 1 offers an exhibition called "Traditional
Crafts and Industry in the Příbram Region", and also a permanent exhibition
"Mining and Metallurgical Buildings of the Příbram Region in Historical
Photographs". Visitors can learn about the economic, social and cultural
development from the Middle Ages up to the 20th century. The life in this area
was influenced by the dominating mine - metallurgical working activities on one
hand and on the other hand by traditional crafts (such as wax manufacturing,
carving, making nativity scenes, rosary - production, ring production etc.)
together with small industry such as making pilgrimage goods.
These traditional economic activities were directly connected with the
existence of the near - by holy place on the Holy Mountain. This architectural
jewel of the Czech Baroque belongs among the foremost European places of
pilgrimage and is dedicated to the Cult of the Virgin Mary. This is shown by
the range of exhibits situated near the entrance to the museum.
The exhibition "The History of Mining in the Příbram Region" is situated in
the building, the so-called "Mining registration - room" (registration of the
miners who had gone down the pit), from 1880. It shows the local mining and
metallurgy activities from the earliest times up to the present time, when
mining activities were ended. The exploitation of the historical silver
district and the extraction of uranium deposit after 1948 are documented here.
The most precious exhibits include the oldest documents about the beginning of
the mining activity, the bronze objects from the period of the Celtic
colonization, the oldest written document confirming the existence of Příbram
(from 1216), and the first written document concerning local smelting works and
mines (from 1311). The samples of medieval and present - day miner's working
tools , miner's uniforms, etc. have been added to the exhibits. Information
about the famous Mining Educational Establishment from 1849, later the Mining
College and the Mining University is also here. The materials about the biggest
mine catastrophe in the world up to that time in the Mary shaft in 1892 are
noteworthy. The facts concerning the success of Rudné doly Příbram (Metal Mines
of Příbram) and Uranové doly Příbram (Uranium Mines of Příbram) are also here.
The visitors can see some exhibits from the fields of mining, measuring and
rescue equipment and by samples of silver, lead and uranium ores. This
exhibition of the museum also recalls the infamous part of the history of
uranium mining, when political prisoners were forced inhumanely to work in the
uranium mines after the revolution in February 1948.
Three other permanent exhibitions continue the subject of the previous
topic. They are called "The Development of Vertical Mining Transport in the
Příbram Region", "Drilling Equipment of the Příbram Mines" and "The
Panorama of the Březové Hory Mining District". They are installed in the
attractive authentic environment of the Ševčin shaft. Here visitors can see the
mouth of the shaft with the cage used by miners. The pit - head gear, dating
from 1879, was built in the style of industrial architecture of the 19th
century (Malakoff). Because of its historical and architectural value, the pit
- head gear was proposed to be introduced to the list of the technical
monuments of UNESCO. The visitors to this building are also offered a unique
view of the surroundings from the Ševčin tower gallery from the hight of 37
A rare mining compressor, which was constructed domestically and was used
in the Březové Hory mining district, is situated in the neighbouring engine
In a former administrative building of the Ševčin shaft from 1885 the museum has
prepared the units of the exhibitions which are thematically divided. These
exhibitions include unique mineralogical and geological samples from the
Březové Hory silver mining district, from uranium deposits and also from the
Brdy iron area. The collection of silver minerals dominates the exhibition. It
is supplemented by samples of old miner's working tools, tallow and oil
miner's safety lamps, ceremonial miner's sticks, called "švancara", and
home - made models of shafts, called "štufenverk". Visitors can also see a
long-term exhibition about the paleontology of the Příbram region.
An uncommon exhibition project arose on the waste dump of the Ševčin shaft.
Mining equipment, which was used in Rudné a Uranové doly Příbram (Metal and
Uranium Mines of Příbram) in the second half of the 20th century, is installed
on the mining railway track which is more than 180 m long.
From there visitors can visit an original miner's cottage with an exhibition
documenting the life of a miner's family at the turn of the 19th century.
There is also an exhibition of local folk toy and puppet making.
A technical monument - a steam winding engine from 1914 is one of the rarest
exhibits of the Mining Museum at Březové Hory. It is situated in the engine
room of the historical Anna shaft, which was driven in 1789. A shaft building
of the Vojtěch shaft is another technical sight, which was built in 1870 on the
site of a pit sunk in 1779. The exhibition in this building is supplemented by
a permanent exhibition dedicated to the achievement of the world's primacy in
reaching the vertical depth of 1000 m in the Vojtěch pit at Březové Hory in
1875. In a near - by engine room there is another unique steam winding engine
from 1889. From the yard of the Anna shaft it is possible to go underground by
little mining train to the 260 m long Prokop Adit from 1832, which leads to the
mouth of the Prokop pit , which is the deepest shaft of the Březové Hory mining
district (with the depth of 1600 m).
The sight-seeing finishes near the original miner's pub - "Na Vrsicku" ("On
the Hillock"), which offers generous restaurant services in its pleasant and
Visitors to the District Museum of Příbram - the Mining Museum at Brezove
Hory have an opportunity to buy valuable souvenirs, minerals, jewels made from
precious or decorative stones, postcards and publications concerning mining and
the region, etc.
Collecting of mineralogical and geological samples for a charge is
organised for geologists, both amateurs and professionals, by the museum in its
area on the waste dump of the Ševčin shaft.
Tourist season (April - October): Tuesday - Sunday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Other Months: Tuesday - Friday 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.
It is possible to open any other time except opening hours after making a reservation in advance.
Trip to SW - 1 hour to drive from Prague
Time of this trip depends on your interest, from 4 hour round trip to 8 hour round trip.