The medieval town. The exhibition on mineralogy and archeology.
Order Tour Code: C WW15
Print formatArticles of authorRecommendation of pageThe town of Kada˛ with its population of eighteen thousand is situated in the region where the river Oh°e leaves the clasp of the Ore Mountains and the DoupovskÚ Mountains. The oldest royal town of Kada˛ is going to introduce itself, dear visitors, as a modern, friendly and enjoyable town, as a destination of tours for many business partners and travel agencies too. Kada˛ obtained the charter of a free royal town about 1259 and in 1277 the local castle became a seat of the burgrave of the Kada˛ region. Kada˛ observed its greatest bloom as a medieval town under the reign of Charles IV. The importance he attached to the town is documented by the fact he visited the town twice. Its further history does not differ from the history of other towns and all the country too much. In the days of the Hussite wars Kada˛ belonged to a catholic camp, it was being conquered in the days of the Baroque, glove-making started being developed by the end of the 18th century and brown coal mining in the following century. Nevertheless today's face of the historical town heart is adorned by a number of marvellous burgher houses, religious buildings and also remains of medieval fortification. The historical part of Kada˛ has not been in vain the historical town reserve since 1978.
The Town Hall
The original Gothic town hall originated from the first half of the 14 th century and its original town hall tower has been preserved since this time. Four huge pillars carying a pointed arch create the entrance premises of the town hall. There was vuilt a bay chapel with Gothic windows on the entrance (1400 - 1404). The top of the tower is crowned with a gallery and an eight-side helmet decorated with crabs on its sides. The tower is 53,7 m high and was built by the builder Petr HŘndt who left his signature in a form of statue of a dog.
The Church of the Saint Cross Rise
Print formatArticles of authorRecommendation of page
Kada˛ parish church was originally consecrated to the Virgin Mary. The first written mention of it is from 1291. The church burnt down in 1421 and wa consequently adapted in the late Gopthic style in the second half of the 15 th century. It served to the Protestants within the 16 th century and it was probably at that time when the church changed its name and was consecrated to the Saint Cross Rise. Between 1745-55 it was rebuilt into its Barowue shape by the builder Kosh. Even after the fire of the town in 1811 the reconstructionremained its Barowue appearance and its precious interior facilities, especially its altar and pulpit.
Print formatArticles of authorRecommendation of page
It was founded around 1260 during the reign of King P°emysl Otakar II. on the adge of a rocky steep slope above the River Oh°e. Only cellars and parts of circumferential walls of the ground floor have been preserved from the residentil buildings of the early Gothic castle after all adaptations. Empress Marie Teresie allowed to rebuild the castle in 1750. From then the castle served as military barracks and completely lost its medieval character. Nowadays the inhabitants can use a library and a reading room, internet cafÚ and a ceremonial hall in the castle. The Gallery of Josef Liesler was opened in September 2000. Another part of the castle is used as a community care service house.
The Church of the Beheading of St John the Baptist
Print formatArticles of authorRecommendation of pageThe oldest mentions of Kada˛ are related to its hospital and church. But only the prismatic cubes in the wall give the evidence of the oldest building of the church. This early Gothic church was damaged in 1421 and renewed in 1452. Later it was renewed again after fires . There are frescoes depicting the life of John the Baptist from 1744 on its vaults, which were renewed in 1845. The church is now used for holding of classical music concerts, small actions and handing-over of graduation certificates and certificates of apprenticeships.
The Franciscan Cloister
Due to its historical value the Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic ranked the cloister among the national cultural monuments in 1995. The cloister with the Church of Fourteen Saint Helpers are situated outside the area of the municipal preserve. The town has been gradually reconstructing the whole complex including its garden. The Municipal museum situated in the premises of the cloister has been housing a permanent exhibition of mineralogic and archaeologic objects of interest, examples of mining and processing of raw materials and also minig activities in Kada˛ area since 1999.
The Holy Trinity Column
Print formatArticles of authorRecommendation of pageIt is situated in the middle of Peace square. The monument is by J. Waitzmann from 1753-1755.
The main wall was built probably in the end of the 13th and in the beginning of the 14th century and it was breached from all cardinal points by a gate. None of them was preserved in full. Only a solid Gothic, later only a little altered in a Renaissance way, tower of the Holy Gate is still standing. On the other side of the town, in the east, the tower of Äatec Gate used to stand. It was also called the Prague Gate or the Blacksmith┤s Gate. But only the Late Gothic barbica remained from that gate.
Bird houses on the fortification of the town - lovely, very intact, and in our surroundings unique little houses in gardens originated most probably shortly after 1800 as an expression of the style of life of a certain class of population at that time. The monumental significance of these objects goes over the limits of the area of the town of Kada˛ even without reference to their picturesque symbiosis with a bail raising their appeal.
The Executioners Lane
Thie street is the most narrow lane ever from the middle ages.
W from Prague ľ 2 hours to drive
1)Klasterec town and chateau porcelain museum trip number CWW14 ľ 8 hour round trip
Our popular tours are outlined on our web sites:
Please send an e-mail to order the tour!|