"The most beautiful neo-renaissance building* 1888 - 1893 *
the design of the Viennese architect, F. Neumann * currently the seat of the Municipal Authority * a richly decorated façade and rare stained glass windows * the tower is 65 metres tall * tours of the interior, the ceremonial hall and the tower *
THE WALLENSTEIN HOUSES
"The charm of folk architecture" * three single-storied half-timbered-houses dating from 1678 - 1681* typical of the architecture of the 17th century * the oldest preserved houses in the city *
New, more prominent changes took place in the second half of the 18th century. At this time, the centre of Liberec consisted of brick houses in the classical style. The beginning of the 19th century saw the growth of the textile industry which brought about the development of industrial architecture. This fact lead to the town acquiring independent status. At that time, many representative edifices were built and lent the town a majesty corresponding to its importance - Liberec used to be, after Prague, the second biggest town in Bohemia. There were three consulates, 50 textile factories, and 60 factories connected with the metal industry, amongst which there were also those producing RAF cars.
Nowadays, Liberec offers many interesting sites. In downtown there are many buildings which are the pride of the town - for example, the townhall built in neo-renaissance style and finished in 1893, a symbol of wealth and the economical as well as cultural development of the town. Behind the town hall, there is the Theatre of František Xaver Šalda dating from 1893. A museum, chamber of commers and a building society originating from 1901-02, with their grandeur and clarity of style, form the jewels in the crown of the historical part of the town. The rarest jem is the villa quarter from the turn of the 20th century which by its uniqueness attests to the wealth of Liberec at that time.
Liberec is sometimes called "the town under Ještěd," whose peak, rising to 1012m, is crowned by a modern tower which has become a dominant feature of the town. The project for this original construction in the shape of a rotating hyperboloid was designed by the architect Karel Hubáček and awarded the prestigious Perret's prize. The building, housing a communications tower and a hotel with a restaurant, was opened on 21. 9. 1973, and has become a symbol of the remarkable town which lays underneath.
on May 25, 2009
Any reproduction and using of texts or graphics without written permission is not permited!
© 2006 Private Tours Prague
Last updated on May 25, 2009