Hruby Rohozec was founded as an early Gothic castle around 1280. During the first 350 years the castle belonged to a succession of Czech aristocratic houses. Later, the castle was taken into the possession of the French house of Des Fours, which owned it for another three centuries. The last member of French house remained there until after the end of WWII when the castle, being an important cultural monument, became a state-owned property.
During the seven centuries of its existence the castle of Hruby Rohozec was rebuilt three times. The first reconstruction performed in the Gothic style took place at the beginning of the 16th century, the second reconstruction stage - implemented during the Renaissance - came one hundred years later. The reconstruction work performed in the Napoleonic style in 1822 btought the architectural development of the castle more or less to its close. The current look of the castle features the typical qualities of all of the above-named architectural styles - Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque, as well as the Napoleonic and Romantic styles of the 19th century.
The castle´s interiors provide us a view of the original furnished rooms, as well as an exhibition of the housing culture portaying the time period from the Renaissance up to the beginning of the 20th century. The exhibition has been arranged by the Prague Museum of Arts and Crafts.
1,5 hour to drive to N
1)Hruby Rohozec chateau trip CNN7 - 5 hour round trip