Cheb Medieval Town
The town in the heart of Europe can show off with a rich history going back to the 9th Century. Happenings that took place behind the stone or colorful walls of silent witnesses of the past entered the history…
Spalicek The symbol of the Cheb's square is made off a bizarre complex of 11 houses divided by Kramarska street, which has been developing since the 13th Century at the place where there were originally shopkeeping booths and meat stores. According to the oldest depiction from 1472, the ground plan of these 2 blocks has remained basically the same up to this day. The third row of houses, which used to be on the western side of the square, was taken down.
Church of St. Wenceslas It was built in the Baroque style between 1674 and 1688 in place of a medieval church and convent from the beginning of the 14th Century. During the church's reconstruction, the ground plan of the medieval building was changed and main front with a majestic portal and Habsburg emblem was oriented into Kamenna street.
Franciscan church The Minorite church was built simultaneously with a convent after 1247 when Franciscans settled in Cheb. A vestry and adjacent portion of walling has been preserved from the original building from the mid-13th Century. A cloister of the convent from the 1st half of the 14th Century is one of the most beautiful landmarks in the town's historical center.
Town house The town house in the bottom part of the square is thanks to its lay-out, Gothic portal and Renaissance passage one of the best preserved burgess houses. The oldest reports about the house come from the end of the 14th Century. It underwent a Renaissance reconstruction at the beginning of the 17th Century. It made history on February 25, 1634, as a place where Albrecht of Valdstejna was murdered. Since 1735, the house is permanently owned by the town. In 1873, the town museum was founded there.
Church of St. Bartholomew The former hospital church of the order of Red-Star Crusaders was finished in 1414. The Gothic-style building has an unusual design of the ribbed vault carried by one central pillar. The church was damaged at the end of the World War II. During the reconstruction between 1962 and 1963, original wall paintings were restored and the church served up to 1997 as an exhibition hall of the National Gallery of Fine Arts. There was a permanent collection of Gothic sculptures there. Then, the church was returned to the order of Red-Star Crusaders.
New town hall
The east side of the square is dominated by the new Baroque town hall, which was built between 1723 and 1728 according to the design of Prague court architect Giovanni Battista Alliprandi. In spite of the fact that the building is only a torso of the original town hall, it is, with its palace lay-out and stuke and sculpture interior decoration, one of the most successful Baroque architectures in the town. Since 1962, there is the National Gallery of Fine Arts there.
Gabler's house The house belongs thanks to its richly articulated and decorated Rococo façade among the most valuable results of the late-Baroque reconstruction carried out in the 18th Century. In the second half of the 17th Century, the house was owned by Jesuits who placed a relief with the figure of Virgin Mary above the portal.
Schirdinger's house This house belongs among the most representative buildings of the whole square, which document different phases of town's reconstruction. The house with its narrow front and graded, high gable illustrates the appearance of Gothic houses of medieval Cheb. A Renaissance arcade gallery in the courtyard comes from the time of reconstruction.
Grüner's house The house belonged to the prominent Wrendl family, the emblem of which is placed in the round cartouche above the portal. In the first half of the 19th Century, a municipal councilman Grüner lived there and the house was a place of numerous meetings with J. W. Goethe.
House "U dvou arcivevodu" (At the two archdukes) This house was the oldest pull-up in Cheb called "U cerveneho konicka" (At a red horse), which hosted most of the prominent visitors since 1531. The name "At the two archdukes" comes from 1806 when two Austrian archdukes Johann and Ludwig lived there.
Fountain with a sculpture of a Savage Man - the knight Roland The fountain is located in the middle of the square and since 1591, it is decorated by a sculpture of the knight Roland who used to symbolize market privileges of imperial towns. The original copy of the sculpture is kept in the "mazhauze" of the Cheb museum, while the fountain is decorated with a sandstone copy made by academic sculptor Zivny in 1985.
W from Prague - 2,5hours
on Apr 13, 2011
Any reproduction and using of texts or graphics without written permission is not permited!
© 2006 Private Tours Prague
Last updated on Apr 13, 2011