The small town of Namest Upon Oslava river lies in the pictoresque landscape on the lower reaches of the Oslava river, on the slopes of the Vysocina mountains. The town´s name is of Czech origin - it used to mark the place, where something had been gathered, piled up or deposited - sands, earth.
It is an interesting fact that Archduke Franz Ferdinand d´Este left for Sarajevo from Namest estate where he was staying as a guest in 1914.
The Namest chateau represents the outstanding monment and striking dominant feature of the town.
The present for of the chateau was influenced mainly by Jan Starsi of Zerotin, who had the original castle from 1578 adapted in the style of Italian renaissance buildings, probably according to a plan by architect Gialdi.
Until 1945 the chateau belongedto the Haugwitzs. Then it shortly served as a summer seat of President Edvard Benes. Now it hosts a permanent exhibition of tapestries dating from the period between the late 16th century and the middle of the 19th century.