The spa Mariensbad, the place where Johan Wolfgang Goethe met his last love 17 years old Ulrika von Levetzow & porcelain factory in Slavkov and museum in Mostov.
Order Tour Code: C WW1
This spa also called Mariensbad dates back to the end of the 18th century.
It is the place where Johan Wolfgang Goethe met his last love, 17 years old Ulrika von Levetzow. It is the center of the porcelain production.
Marianske Lazne spa
It has been popular with guests from all over the world. Numerous guests said
the same - " There is not any more beautiful place on this planet..." ( the
English king Edward, Franz Kafka, the American inventor T.A. Edison , ...)
Traditionally, there are treated diseases of kidneys, the urinary tract, air
passages, locomotive organs and obesity, diseases of heart and blood vessels as
well as deseases of skin and mental disorders.
Spa treatment consists of baths, the drinking cure, massages, inhalations, peat
baths, physical exercises, diet and acupuncture, walks to the beautiful
environs of the town and the fresh air play an important role, too.
The oldest recod concerning local mineral springs is the letter which the king
Ferdinand sent to the abbot of themonastery Tepla ( in 1528 ).
He asked the abbot to send samples of water ( from the present Ferdinand Spring
) to Prague because he believed salt might be found in it. People knew about
the existence of the mineral springs here, but they did not make use of them.
In 1779 the abbot charged the doctor of the monastery, John Joseph Nehr, to
carry out the analysis of local mineral springs. The doctor built the first spa
on his own money. He called it " The Golden Ball " and in 1808 he opened the
first spa season.The abbot Pfrogner then decided about the construction of the
The place became very popular within a few years and it was the beginning of the
growth of Marianske Lazne.
Porcelain Factory Slavkov
Seeing the porcelain factory must be booked ahead.
The history of the Porcelain Factory in Slavkov goes back to 1792 when the first
factory in Bohemia was founded by Johann Georg Paulus. Due to successful trials
with kaolin-, feldspar- and silica-based material, the factory obtained a
privilege for the manufacture of porcelainware in 1812.
The Porcelain Factory had become very prosperous between 1803-1843 owing to
Georg Lippert, a native of Slavkov, a mine physicist and physician. Since 1867
Georg Haas and Johann Czjzek took over the management of the factory. At that
time the Haas & Czjzek brand appeared for the first time in the world, becoming
famous later on and still having meaning in the field of porcelain.
Slavkov products have always had a large number of customers, and the Haas &
Czjzek Co. had been a part of the greatest porcelain manufacturers in the last
quarter of the 19th century, and in Czechoslovakia between the wars. In the
year of the 200th anniversary of its foundation, the Slavkov Porcelain Factory
was proclaimed a cultural monument.
Mostov - Castle - Museum of Porcelain
The last owner of Slavokov porcelain factory - baron Georg Haas was governed by
two passions. He liked the animals,he founded the zoological garden in the
Bítov castle - the first one here. He kept there more then 200 dogs ( some
breeds don´t exist any more ), horses, and at the first place was she-lion
Mitsi-Mouse. He used to sleep with his she-lion in the bed. As the second
passion he had many girls from the country as the mistresses - he had about 25
children, but he never got married. His life finished on the May 1945 by the
shot from the pistol - two days after the visit of the Red Guards that came to
confiscate his property, nobody knows if it was the suicide or the murder.